OPT Health Insurance

OPT Health Insurance Overview
OPT Insurance Coverage
FAQ

What is OPT?

OPT (Optional Practical Training), is a period during students with F-1 status who have completed or have been pursuing their degrees for one academic year to work for one year. Students of STEM programs can apply for an additional 17-month extension of OPT.

What is OPT health insurance?

OPT students hold F1 Visa. However, they are not required to maintain health insurance by institutions since they have graduated. OPT students are allowed to seek jobs in all states of the U.S. They are highly recommended to maintain health insurance and there are more flexible options for them.

There are three types of OPT health insurance:
1) Employers provide group health insurance. There are only a few companies that provide this benefit for their employees. And interns are generally excluded for this benefit.
2) Employers afford part of the insurance premium. There are a few companies that provide group health insurance and only afford part of the insurance premium.
3) Employers don’t provide any health insurance benefits. Most U.S. employers don’t provide any insurance benefits, therefore employees need to purchase individual health insurance plans.

Why is OPT health insurance necessary?

Prevent accidents.
When working or travelling in the U.S., OPT students might get injured and need to get treatment. If they visit the emergency room ,they may be required to show an insurance ID card before getting treatment. Therefore, it could result in a delay in the treatment of diseases if the patients are not enrolled in health insurance plans.

Avoid sky-high bills.
While living in the U.S., medical and psychological issues can arise at any time, sometimes without warning. The high cost of healthcare in the U.S. causes a potentially serious financial risk to students. Therefore it is necessary to maintain health insurance for international students.

Free preventive care benefits.
Student health insurance will become invalid after graduation. However, it’s necessary to maintain preventive care when living in the U.S. If OPT students are enrolled in Tigerless OPT insurance plan, their preventive care will be totally covered by the insurance company.

How to choose health insurance for OPT students?

OPT students should pay attention to these elements when searching for your health insurance plan:

Age

The insurance premium will increase when the policyholder is older. You can contact Tigerless customer services to learn more affordable plans.

Provider Network

Provider networks will directly affect the convenience of seeking medical services and claim efficiency. Aetna, UnitedHealthcare, Anthem, First Health and Blue Cross Blue Shield are well-known provider networks in the U.S.

Health Insurance Coverage

F1 student insurance usually covers items such as college health center and emergency care. Generally, dental and Ophthalmology insurance are excluded from U.S. health insurance.

Customer Service Quality

Some well-known insurance companies provide 24/7 multi-language customer services. International students are recommended to choose insurance companies that provide high-quality customer services.

Is Tigerless OPT health insurance plan reliable?

Tigerless OPT health insurance uses Aetna network, which covers 50 states in the U.S. The coverages include general clinic services, preventive care and emergency care, etc. Tigerless has provided 24/7 online customer services and kept upgrading plans, aiming to meet the medical needs of international students.

Preventive Care

For certain products
Immunization
Annual Physical Exams
Mental Health
Physical Therapy

Eg: Zhang’s employer doesn’t provide health insurance benefits for him, therefore he purchased an OPT health insurance plan. During high-occurrence seasons for the flu, Zhang got flu shot and HPV immunization. Later, she got a $350 bill. According to Tigerless health insurance policy, the immunization fee will be covered by the insurance company.

General Clinic Services

Urgent Care
Specialist Clinic
Prescription

Eg: Huang purchased Tigerless OPT health insurance after he applied OPT. During his graduation trip, Huang suffered a stomachache. He brought an insurance ID card and went to urgent care directly. The doctor diagnosed Huang with gastric ulcer. Huang went to a pharmacy and got prescription drugs. According to Tigerless health insurance policy, Huang should only pay $30 copayment of urgent care, 20% of the treatment fee and $20 copayment of prescription drugs.

Emergency Care

Ambulance
Emergency Room
Hospitalization
Surgery

Eg: Jiang’s employer only affords 50% of the insurance premium and the group health insurance plan provides limited coverage. Therefore he purchased Tigerless OPT health insurance. One day Jiang suffered from pains in his abdomen. He was sent to the emergency room by an ambulance. The doctor gave him a blood test and a CT examination. Jiang was diagnosed with appendicitis and got surgery. Later he received a $28,000 medical bill. According to Tigerless health insurance policy, Jiang should only pay $200 copayment, deductible from the insurance plan, and 20% of the remaining balance.

Before the purchase

When can I purchase OPT health insurance?

Students who are eligible to purchase OPT health insurance, could purchase it after graduation, during OPT/OPT STEM extension and grace period.

When does the insurance plan become effective?

Our health insurance can be effective as early as the second day after your purchase.

Who is eligible to purchase OPT health insurance?

Students in OPT status or grace period, are eligible to purchase Tigerless OPT insurance. If your Visa is changed to H1B status, please click here to purchase H1B health insurance.

Where can I check the meaning of insurance terminology?

Please click here and learn more.

Purchase process

What payment methods are accepted by Tigerless?

We accept payment by credit card, debit card, checks, cash and PayPal.

Can I buy a plan on a monthly basis?

The coverage period of Tigerless health insurance plans start from 3 months and only accept one-time payment.

How to choose the coverage period?

You are recommended to start your new coverage period on the expiration date of your last insurance plan. You may purchase a minimum of 3 months and a maximum of one full policy year of coverage at a time.

Filing claim and getting medical services

How can I file a claim?

In general, if you choose an in-network provider, you won’t pay upfront for your medical expenses and will, therefore, avoid the reimbursement procedures. If you have to pay the full amount at the time of service, please collect all your bills/invoices and contact our customer service representative.

Can I extend or renew my health insurance?

You can contact our customer service team to renew your plan before the expiration date. Or you can log in your Tigerless account on Tigerless official website (http://tigerless.com) and click “Renew Plan”.

How can I find in-network doctors/hospitals?

You can get medical services in any medical institutions. If you need to find in-network doctors/hospitals, please click here to search and make an appointment. Please contact us if you need further assistance.

OPT Health Insurance

OPT保险

OPT医保介绍
OPT医保覆盖范围
常见问题

什么是OPT?

OPT(Optional Practical Training),是美国移民局授予 F1 学生的校外工作临时许可。一般来说,OPT为一年,一些理工科类别的专业,即STEM专业,可以在一年时间的OPT的基础上再延长17个月的实习。

什么是OPT医疗保险?

OPT期间留学生仍持有F1签证,但由于已经毕业,不能参加学校的团体医疗保险,学校也不强制OPT期间的学生购买医疗保险。OPT期间留学生可以在全美范围内找工作,这时候留学生需要根据自身需求,选购美国医疗保险。OPT保险不再需要满足学校要求和生效时间,选择更加灵活。

OPT期间的医疗保险大多属于以下三种类型:
1)工作后公司提供全额医疗保险。美国仅有少部分大型知名企业会为员工提供全额医疗保险,并且不一定为试用期的员工提供此项福利。
2)工作后公司承担医疗保险的部分保费。美国有少部分公司会为员工付医疗保险的部分保费。
3)工作后公司不提供医疗保险。美国大部分公司并不为员工提供医疗保险,员工需要自行购买商业医疗保险。

为什么OPT期间的医疗保险这么重要?

预防意外事件
在美工作或境内旅游期间,可能会遇到意外受伤而急需及时救治的情况。去急诊时,医院一般会要求提供保险证明,对于没有达到紧急救助标准的病人,如果无法提供保险证明或支付押金,医院则可能会选择不接收。因此,若无医疗保险保障,病人则非常可能耽误接受治疗的最佳时机,而造成严重后果。

防止背负天价账单
在美就医医疗费用十分高昂。 “裸险”就医,往往伴随着大多数人无法承受的“天价”账单。在美国,一个切除阑尾炎的手术价格可高达上万美金。留美人士如果没有医疗保险,意味着其就医后需要全额支付医疗费用,一次就诊经历可能将会使其陷入掏空积蓄偿还巨额医疗债务的困境。

免费享受个人健康防护保障
OPT期间,留学生原有的学校医疗保险会自动失效。在美国工作生活,日常的个人健康防护必不可少。若是有一份可靠的OPT医疗保险计划,个人健康防护类的项目的费用将由保险公司承担。

OPT身份人士该如何选择医疗保险?

OPT身份人士需从下述几个维度衡量一份医保计划是否符合自身需求:

年龄

投保人年龄越大,保费越贵。30岁以下的留学生,建议购买性价比更高的校外医保。

医疗网络

医疗网络会影响受保人就医的便利性和申请理赔的效率性等。在美国,知名的医疗网络有Aetna、First Health、UnitedHealthcare、Anthem、Blue Cross Blue Shield等。

医保计划覆盖范围

F1留学生医保计划通常会覆盖校医室和急诊等项目。通常,美国的商业医疗保险不包括牙科保险和眼科保险。

客户服务质量

好评度高的保险公司会提供多语言的24/7客户服务,建议留学生选择提供高质量客户服务的保险公司。

虎虎保险OPT医保计划可靠吗?

虎虎保险OPT医保计划使用的是美国排名顶尖的Aetna医疗网络,覆盖全美50个州。保障项目广泛,含专科门诊、急诊、住院手术等。虎虎保险自成立以来,一直为留学生群体提供全年24/7中英文客户服务,不断升级产品计划,旨在满足留学生在美生活的各种医疗需求。

个人健康防护类

疫苗
心里咨询
健康检查
物理治疗

例:小张找到工作后,发现公司并不为员工提供医疗保险,遂购买了虎虎保险OPT医保计划。流感高发季,小张前往诊所接种了流感疫苗和HPV九价疫苗。一个月后小张收到了$350的账单,根据虎虎保险OPT医保计划条款,小张此次接种疫苗的费用将由保险公司全部承担,小张无需付任何费用。

日常看病问诊类

校医院门诊
专科门诊
处方药

例:小黄申请OPT后,立即购买了虎虎保险OPT医保计划。毕业旅游期间,小黄突发胃部剧痛,遂带上医保卡前往附近医保网络内的门诊。经医生诊断,小黄患有胃溃疡。小黄持医生开具的处方药单(prescription)前往药房购买了处方药。根据虎虎保险OPT医保计划条款,小黄此次就诊仅需支付门诊的copayment$30、门诊诊费的20%以及处方药的copayment$20。

紧急意外事件类

救护车
急诊
住院
手术

例:小江OPT时期入职的公司仅承担其50%的医保费用,且公司团体医保价格高昂,保障范围有限,于是他放自行购买虎虎保险OPT医保计划。某天突然下腹部剧痛,通过救护车送往医保网络内的急诊室。医生安排其做抽血化验和CT检查。小江被确诊患有阑尾炎后进行手术。之后,小江收到$28,000的高价账单,根据虎虎医保计划条款,此次紧急医疗费用将按照比例进行赔付,小江仅需付急诊室的copayment $200、自付额、以及余下款项的20%。

购买保险前的问题

什么时候可以购买OPT医疗保险?

符合OPT医疗保险购买资格的人士,可以在毕业后、OPT期间、OPT STEM extension期间,以及grace period内购买OPT医保计划。

OPT医疗保险购买后何时生效?

虎虎保险最早可以在您购买后的第二天开始生效。

什么身份符合OPT医疗保险的购买资格?

持F1学生签证并使用OPT在美国工作,或处于Grace Period期间的人士,均符合购买资格。如果您的签证类型已经转为H1B,请点击这里选购H1B医疗保险。

保单上面的专业名词都是什么意思?

请点击这里查看保险专业名词解析。

购买保险时的问题

虎虎保险支持哪些支付方式?

虎虎提供多种付款方式,包括信用卡、支票、PayPal、借记卡或现金。

保险计划可以月付吗?

虎虎保险的OPT医保计划需三个月起买,并且需要一次性付款。

如何选择Coverage period(医保覆盖时间)?

Coverage Period建议选择现有保险失效当天开始,三个月起买,最长不超过一年。

购买保险后的问题

如何进行理赔报销?

通常,网络内的医院会直接和保险公司结算,无需垫付。如需垫付,请保存好收据,以便之后申请理赔。

我可以延长或者续保我的医保计划吗?

您可以在医保计划到期之前联系我们的客服团队,申请延长医保计划的覆盖日期。或者在虎虎保险官网(http://tigerless.com)上登陆您的账户,点击“立即续保”即可。

如何预约就诊?

您可以前往任何医疗机构就诊。如果您想查找哪家医疗机构距离您最近,并且在医保网络内的话,可点击这里在线查找并预约。如有任何疑问,请及时联系虎虎保险客服。

购买虎虎OPT保险